Half Marathon Training: week 2 recap

15 Aug

As I stated in my previous posts,  I am running the Smuttynose Rockfest Half Marathon on October 2nd, and am blogging about my training progress.  I am doing this both for my own benefit (its my first half marathon and I’m excited to hear ideas/tips/suggestions/advice from veteran half marathon runners) and also to share my experience with others!

Week two brought its own little lesson for me: footwear is IMPORTANT!!!  I ran my first week (of 9 total training weeks) with my existing running shoes – Nike Free Run 2–  which I love.  I had run up to a 10k in them previously, but wanted new shoes for my Half training which will log many long miles.  I went to Marathon Sports in Wellesley and was there for about an hour and a half.  A very knowledgeable sales associate tested my gait, took the time to hear my concerns/injury history and chose several pairs of shoes she thought would be a good fit for me.  I tried on a pair of Newtons, a pair of Saucony Kinvara 2, and a pair of New Balance.  The sales associate told me to take a run outside in each pair, to get a feel for them.  I did about 5-7 trial runs in total.  Some of them I did with 2 different shoes on.  In the end, I decided on the Newtons because they gave me extra support where I needed it (n my injured left ankle) while staying on the “minimal” side.  They were pretty expensive, and as I made my way to the register I started second guessing my decision.  The sales associate said that I could take them home for my next run (4 miles) and if I wanted to swap them out for another pair, I could come back the next day and do so.  This was pretty impressive to me.  It was that fact, combined with the 20% personal trainer discount, that sealed the deal.

The new sneakers have taken a LOT of getting used to.  They are a “minimal” shoe but they are unlike any other pair I’ve worn in the past.  The first 1-1.5 miles of each run in them has been difficult; my body is not yet comfortable in them and I feel totally off.  I ran 4 miles and the next day ran 6 miles in them.  At the end of each run, I felt fine and my ankle tendonitis has not given me any extra noticeable problems.  There was one point at which I thought I would have to turn around on my 6 mile run and go home to change back into my old sneakers.  As I continued on in my loop (to head back home), I was able to adjust my stride and foot fall so that I felt comfortable.  The shoe definitely helps to absorb the heelstrike that happens as a result of my tendonitis in my left ankle.  I have decided to hang onto the shoes, despite their $140 price tag.  If there’s anything worth putting a little extra money into, its the shoes that will be on my feet for miles and miles (and miles) to come. 

Plus, they’re bright orange…my favorite color! 😉

Leave a comment