Half Marathon Training: week 1 recap

9 Aug

As I stated in a recent blog, I am in the process of training for a half marathon.  This is something I have always wanted to do, so I guess you could say I’m crossing it off my “bucket list”.  For those of you who don’t know, I am running the Smuttynose Rockfest Half Marathon on October 2nd (just shy of my 30th birthday!!).  I decided to go with a 9 week training program because I am already able to log several miles without a problem, and 9 weeks will be the ideal amount of time for me to work on building endurance, shaving time off my mile, and getting myself mentally prepared to run 13.1 miles. 

The training program I am using is the Hal Higdon Half Marathon Training program.  I am using it as a skeleton and adjusting it a bit to fit my schedule and add speed/hill workouts.  So far, so good.  The thing I realized in Week 1 was that training (of any sort) takes a LOT of planning.  I work out 6 days a week with no problem, but always have the flexibility of switching things up, or doing what I want when I want.  Having to keep track of runs and log X amount of miles per week is a bit more challenging.  I have had to block off specific time during each day for my workouts to make sure I have enough time to stretch, warm up, run, and cool down.  I find that if I don’t do so, its VERY easy to get sidetracked by other things.  I was in Maine this past weekend and had to be very disciplined to run my long run (5 miles) while I was there.  But I did it on Friday instead of Sunday, when I knew I had a bit of extra time.  So I think being flexible a bit with the program will be key. 

I also realized that it will be nice to have a buddy to run with when the mileage starts getting up there! I signed up for this race with a good friend, so its nice to have someone to talk with about the training, and also to help out with mental motivation.  Thank you Heather 🙂

Week 2 is under way and going well! Will give a report next week! 🙂

6 Responses to “Half Marathon Training: week 1 recap”

  1. fbeladi August 10, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    I’m running Smuttynose too! I just completed my first week recently as well. I’m sure you’ll do fine, and keep up the hard work!

    • lucky13fitness August 11, 2011 at 12:42 am #

      Thank you! is this your first half marathon? I hope your training goes well… keep your focus on the goal and youll be just great!

      • fbeladi August 11, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

        Thanks for the advice! It is my first half marathon. I’m excited, especially since it seems to be a fairly flat course too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Half Marathon Training: week 2 recap « lucky13fitness - August 15, 2011

    […] I stated in my previous posts,  I am running the Smuttynose Rockfest Half Marathon on October 2nd, and am blogging about my […]

  2. Half Marathon Training: week 6 recap « lucky13fitness - September 12, 2011

    […] to my training schedule, I truly will miss it when it’s over!  I have written previous posts about making alterations to my training program due to travel, work, and life but for the most […]

  3. I’m giving it a “Tri” « lucky13fitness - April 26, 2012

    […] year I conquered the Smuttynose Half Marathon.  Training for that 13.1 mile race was one of the best experiences of my life.  It taught me so much about […]

Leave a Reply

